My travel camera – Nikon Coolpix P5100

I travel fairly often and every time I don’t carry a camera, some incredible photo opportunity will unfold in front of me leaving me frustrated.

For example…traveling home from a trip, I glance out the window and see this:

So, I decided to get a compact camera that is a bit more travel friendly than my Nikon D200.

I just purchased the Nikon Coolpix P5100. It fit the bill perfectly. 12MP, full manual controls if needed, matrix metering and all of the stuff you’d expect. The controls area almost familiar feeling after using the D200. The construction and general “feel” of the camera is awesome.

As with any compact camera, the lag between pushing the button and the camera actually taking the picture is a bit long after using a real SLR, but compared to other compacts I tried, it’s not bad. It also supports my speedlight SB-600. My only other complaint is that the wide angle is not as much as I’d like. For the money, it’s a good value in my opinion.

Here are a few links:

~ by gregorywilson on November 14, 2007.

One Response to “My travel camera – Nikon Coolpix P5100”

  1. I agree on many of the capabilities of a smail camera. I paired the P5100 to a sB400 speedlight for an even more compact combination.

Leave a Reply

 
