iPhone Backup Battery by Richard Solo Review

With previous mobile phones, I always carried one or two extra batteries with me, especially when traveling. One of the huge disadvantages of the iPhone is that the battery is not user changeable. I’ll skip the rant about this, but all iPhone owners understand, especially us iPhone 3G owners!

A few weeks ago, I order the backup battery from Richard Solo.  The device works exactly as advertised.  When my iPhone gives me the 20% battery warning, I simply plug it in and let it charge my iPhone back to 100%.  Also, it has a nice cover for the plug which makes it fairly pocket friendly.  I have not noticed any weird heat levels, buzzing, etc.  so I’m very happy with it.  It comes with a wall charger that uses a standard USB cable.  You can charge the battery and the phone using the same cable (it charges the phone first).

My only complaint is that it took 3 weeks for the order to ship.  Evidently, they are overwhelmed with orders.

For more information, including a feature video, go here.

~ by gregorywilson on September 4, 2008.

4 Responses to “iPhone Backup Battery by Richard Solo Review”

  1. Hi Greg, I love my RichardSolo Backup Battery and I can confirm what you have said in your review. I originally bought one. I immediately saw the great advantage of having portable power without needing to be near a wall outlet. Especially on trips. So I bought 2 more! The wait is only about a week now. They have great customer service, I might add. They are there when you need them. Very responsive.

  2. I just ordered one as well and the service was excellent – they let me know what the wait time would be and I have the option to return the device. My only concern was that there might be some future problem with the iPhone that my warranty would not cover because I’d used the Solo battery. However, it appears the battery is Apple approved.

  3. The capacity for RichardSolo battery is too small, it only has 1000mAh capacity, the backup battery iPWR from WirelessInput.com is also double the power. iPWR has capacity 1800mAh and is officially certified by Apple. I ordered several days ago, it works great.

    Here is the web: http://www.WirelessInput.com

  4. Hi Greg, I love my RichardSolo Backup Battery and I can confirm what you have said in your review. I originally bought one. I immediately saw the great advantage of having portable power without needing to be near a wall outlet. Especially on trips. So I bought 2 more! The wait is only about a week now. They have great customer service, I might add. They are there when you need them. Very responsive.

Leave a Reply

 
