Nikon D70 – Rediscovering my first digital SLR

For the past few weeks, I’ve been uploading some of my older digital images to SmugMug, one of several great online destinations for digital images.  (To learn why I chose SmugMug, read my earlier article here).  Even though I have multiple backups of my image library, I don’t have any offsite backups, so if my house ever burned down, I’d loose over 40,000 files, many of which are priceless.  Anyways, while uploading the pictures, I got to the 2004/2005 collections and was surprised at how good these images look despite that they were shot with an early model Nikon D70 (click here for a great review published when this camera was released).   The Nikon D70 was the first “affordable” Nikon digital SLR and had a whopping 6 megapixel sensor.  Since the D70, 13 new models have followed.

Since these shots were taken, I’ve upgraded twice, once to a D200 and recently to a D300 (I recently wrote an article discussing the entire Nikon D-series lineup).  Although the D300 has tons of features not found in the D70, there is no doubt that the D70 is still a VERY good camera. This shows that specs aren’t everything.  You can find a used Nikon D70 on Ebay for just over $200 (without lens), an excellent value!

Click on any of the images below to go to it’s SmugMug page where you can view multiple sizes, including the full-resolution images.  You can also view the EXIF data.

Hawaii

Hawaii

Hawaii

Hawaii

Hawaii

Hawaii

Hawaii

Hawaii

Sunrise at home (Lithia, FL)

Sunrise at home (Lithia, FL)

Sea Turtle shot from submarine

Sea Turtle shot from submarine

Key West

Key West

Theater

Theater

Tulip Festival - Ottawa, Canada

Tulip Festival - Ottawa, Canada

Speedy bird

Speedy bird (heavily cropped)

~ by gregorywilson on January 18, 2009.

13 Responses to “Nikon D70 – Rediscovering my first digital SLR”

  1. Dear Greg Wilson,

    when I saw your pictures I lost my heart to the Nikon D70, although I know that many other types of cameras exist.
    My desire for a further trip to Florida is immense. I spent my last vacation on Anna Maria Island and I also took many pictures.
    In Florida I saw millions of stars at night, beautiful sunsets and sunrises, dolphins and many many more.

    I really like your photos and it is time for me to buy a new camera!

    Thank you!

  2. I like your Photo Very nice looking

  3. Oh my God, this is a great pic…

  4. Thank you for the links and information about smugmug, I host there too, interesting that flex and photography somewhere crossed and I got this useful information that I was not even looking for.
    Thank you
    http://eikrid.smugmug.com

  5. beautiful picture under water, good camera

  6. the best camera, you cut buy. Greeting from Germany from NIKON-Fan!!

  7. Dear Greg, great pictures. Especially the pics of the flowers are amazing.

  8. this is a great picture, thanks for this. nikon s the best.

  9. Awesome pictures you have taken ! Respect. I use the D70 for my diving experince.

  10. wir nützen die nikon kamera um alle unsere Namensschilder zu fotografieren. wir können nikon nur empfehlen.

    gruß vom namensschilder shop

  11. beautiful pictures. Nikon is a very good choice.

  12. I’m using a D300 and I must say, it is the best camera I ever had – great full colours; even when the light is so bright – I used it all the trip to Australia last year and the results where so fantastic.

  13. Great camera, looks very good.

Leave a Reply

 
