My quest to find the best router for Verizon FiOS 35/35 broadband

I’ve been a Verizon FiOS user since the early beta program.  A few years ago, I upgraded to 20Mbps/20Mbps service and found that my various LinkSys routers couldn’t keep up with the throughput.  I then tried the Linksys WRT610N but it still showed the same problem — every few minutes, my network traffic would simply pause for about 1 to 3 seconds!  It was most evident on VOIP calls.   I finally called Verizon and had them send me their supported router, the Actiontec MI424-RW.   Problem solved!

However, two months ago, I upgraded my service to 35/35 (it was now less expensive than 20/20!) and suddenly, the pauses were back.

I started researching the high-end consumer routers and found that the Netgear WNDR3700 had a 680Mhz processor and claimed to support gaming, video streaming, etc., so I decided to give it a shot.   It was a bit pricey ($149 at Best Buy) but when you pay for 35/35 service, you gotta do what you gotta do.

I’ve been running it for 3 days now and am very satisfied.  I’ve seen no network pauses and the various speed test sites all show a faster throughput than with the Linksys and Actiontec routers.

There are some other features that I’ve yet to try including USB Drive support, media server, QOS and more.  It even includes a wireless repeater feature which I’ve not seen in anything other than Apple’s Airport Express or more advanced software stacks like DD-WRT.

The router is dual band (802.11g/802.11n).  Using 802.11n with my Macbook Pro, I get the full 35Mbps throughput wirelessly.

If you have found other routers that handle 35/35 or faster, please comment.  I had a hard time finding anything online about consumer-grade routers for very fast throughput, so hopefully this post will be a decent resource.

~ by gregorywilson on May 23, 2010.

11 Responses to “My quest to find the best router for Verizon FiOS 35/35 broadband”

  1. Wonder if it’ll keep up with my Comcast 14 Mbps – which I just got, up from 6 Mbps? Grumble. Jealous. Grumble.

  2. […] My quest to find the best router for Verizon FiOS 35/35 broadband « Greg Wilson's Ramblin… […]

  3. I’m on the same router and very pleased. One feature I really like is that I can assign static IPs based on the MAC address of my connected devices. This makes development much easier since I haver a few servers running at my home office with different databases and web servers.

  4. […] Direct Link […]

  5. Contact Verizon. They’re fielding a more modern / faster Actiontec that does n also.

  6. I just bought the WNDR3700 but I have Verizon FioS and this router doesn’t have the cable connection port that the stock one has. Any idea how I use the stock FioS router as just a modem? Or would that gate the speeds I’m going to get using the new router? Thanks!

    • The WNDR37000 is a router. The ActionTech that Verizon gave is a Modem/Router. First you have to log into the Actiontech’s control panel and make sure you are no longer transmitting a wireless signal. After that, plug the Ethernet cable into the back of the router, and then run the yellow cord provided into the back of your computer. (This is all explained on the setup CD)

  7. I have the exact same FiOS plan that you do and I was in search of a new router as my old Linksys kicked the bucket and hated the E3000. So I after hours of scathing research I found this little blog post. So I figured I had nothing to lose so I bought this router just 3 hours ago and it is wonderful! I have full bars where only moments ago with the E3000 I had 1-2 that fluctuated back and forth. The real test will be over the next 3 weeks as there are reports of this router failing then. However right now it looks like this will be here to stay. Thanks for the tip!

  8. How do you use your own router with Fios? I have been told by Verizon I am not allowed to use my own router and have to use the one supplied?

  9. Figured out — they installed their router with the coax cable and not many 3rd party routers have a coax input. So change that out for an ethernet cable, call them, tell them to switch it, hook up your new router and you’re done.

Leave a Reply

 
